Assault Weapon Restrictions Across the Nation

  • Assault Weapon Restrictions
  • No Assault Weapon Restrictions
  • Partial Assault Weapon Restrictions

Some states have restrictions, banns, or require owners to register firearms they conceder to be "assault weapons". The definitions of an "assault weapon" varies widely from state to state. These definitions can include whether the gun is fully automatic, the magazine size it can carry, and others.

State Long-guns Handguns
Alabama No No
Alaska No No
Arizona No No
Arkansas No No
California Yes Yes
Colorado No No
Connecticut Yes Yes
Delaware No No
District of Columbia Yes Yes
Florida No No
Georgia No No
Hawaii No Yes
Idaho No No
Illinois No* No*
Indiana No No
Iowa No No
Kansas No No
Kentucky No No
Louisiana No No
Maine No No
Maryland No* Yes
Massachusetts Yes Yes
Michigan No No
Minnesota No No
Mississippi No No
Missouri No No
Montana No No
Nebraska No No
Nevada No No
New Hampshire No No
New Jersey Yes Yes
New Mexico No No
New York Yes Yes
North Carolina No No
North Dakota No No
Ohio No No
Oklahoma No No
Oregon No No
Pennsylvania No No
Rhode Island No No
South Carolina No No
South Dakota No No
Tennessee No No
Texas No No
Utah No No
Vermont No No
Virginia No No
Washington No No
West Virginia No No
Wisconsin No No
Wyoming No No

*Under certain conditions, see the law page for details.

Compare More Firearm Laws Nationwide