Chapter 44 of Title 18 of the United States Code (U.S.C.) does not allow citizens, convicted of a felony with a prison sentence over a year to own firearms. This includes hand guns, and long guns. Many states allow convicted felons to own firearms after a certain amount of time has passed, (usually 10 years or more) since the end of their sentence, and/or if they are given a full pardon by certain authority figures (Governors, President, etc.) Minnesota allows felons to own firearms 10 years after they have been released, provided they are not convicted of a violent crime.
It is a gross misdemeanor to carry a loaded BB gun, when not engaged in a lawful activity, or taking it directly to or from where it was bought/traded/displayed. The same applies to shotguns and rifles.
|Permit to Purchase||No||Yes|
|State Preemption of Local Restrictions||Yes||Yes|
(often encompasses the open carry permit)
Offical Concealed Carry page for Minnesota.
Alaska, Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming