While New York State has fairly restrictive; gun laws New York Cities are much stricter
Since New York State doesn't have preemption over local restrictions many local governments have their own firearm restrictions. In the event of a firearm being stolen the owner has 24 hours to report the theft to the police. It is illegal to alter or remove the serial number of any firearm.
There is a $3 registration fee for firearms. All firearms that the state of New York classifies as “assault weapons” have to be registered by January 15, 2014.
Buffalo, Albany, and Rochester have their own “assault weapons” banns
In Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties permits are valid for 5 years.
New York City
New York City does not except any permit issued through the rest of New York. NYC’s handgun license costs $340 plus a charge of $91.50 for finger print processing. NYC permits are valid for 3 years, and the wait for a permit can be over 6 months in some cases.
NYC requires citizens to have a long gun permit. Only 1 long gun can be bought every 90 days
NYC requires all handguns to be registered. After purchasing a new handgun the owner has 72 hours to register it with NYC.
For more information on New York City’s firearm regulations click here
Rifles and shotguns in New York City cannot have feeding devices that can hold more than 5 rounds.
New York Ghost Gun law
The Ghost gun law in New York states the following:
Known as the Scott J. Beigel Unfinished Receiver Act, this law made it illegal to possess or sell an unfinished frame or receiver.
Does New York have a gun buy back program?
Yes, New York has a gun buy back program.
New York citizens can surrender a gun to the New York Police Department through their Cash for Guns program. They reward anyone who turns in a gun with $200. Further instructions can be obtained by calling the local police precinct.