« Missouri Nebraska »

Overview for Montana

Montana is among the most lenient states when it comes to gun laws.

Montana allows concealed carry without a license outside the limits of towns or cities. Shooting inside these limits is also illegal, as is firing on private property where there is a house that people actively live in.

Permit to PurchaseDetails
Open CarryDetails
Concealed CarryDetails
State Preemption of Local RestrictionsDetails
Firearm RegistrationDetails
Owner LicenseDetails

Law Long-guns Handguns
Permit to Purchase No No
Open Carry Yes Yes
Concealed Carry No Yes
State Preemption of Local Restrictions Yes Yes
Firearm Registration No No
Owner License No No

The Concealed Carry Permit

(often encompasses the open carry permit)

Official Concealed Carry page for Montana.

Montana Concealed Carry Reciprocity

Montana Magazine Capacity


No laws present on mag capacity

Does Montana have a gun buy back program?

Montana does not run, or fund any gun buyback programs.

Does Montana have an inheritance gun law?

Montana does not have an inheritance gun law.

Montana FAQ

State Source